UQ Cyber Seed Funding Winners 2021

23 December 2021

13 collaborative projects have been approved for funding in the 2021 UQ Cyber Seed Funding Scheme. A total sum of $AUD 893,716 will be allocated across these projects. 

This scheme will be instrumental in supporting the efforts of UQ’s researchers and academics to establish new and expanded linkages with strategic partners. 

Congratulations to the following successful applicants: 

Round 1

A threat detection system for extended reality systems

(01/06/2021 – 31/05/2022)

Dr Mashuhuda Glencross (ITEE)

A/Prof Stephen Viller (ITEE)

Prof Simon Smith (ISSR)


A Data-Driven Analysis of Disinformation in Australian Social Media Campaigning

01/07/2021 - 30/06/2022

A/Prof Gianluca Demartini (ITEE)

Dr Glenn Kefford (POLSIS)


An Industrial Internet of Things Testbed for Secure Digital Agriculture

01/06/-2021 – 31/12/2022

Dr Guangdong Bai (ITEE)

Prof Ryan Ko (ITEE)

Yanjun Zhang (ITEE)

Prof Louw Hoffman (QAAFI)

Bondi Labs


Round 2

Assessing the Impacts of Enhanced Cybertip Reports on AFP Child Abuse Material Triaging and Investigative Referral Processes

01/09/2021 - 30/06/2022

Dr David Mount (SS)

Dr Renee Zahnow (SS)
Dr Richard O'Quinn (UQB)
Prof Lorraine Mazerolle (SS)



Cybersecurity Defence Strategies of Distribution Synchrophasor in Smart Grids

01/10/2021 - 30/09/2022

Dr Yi Cui (ITEE)

A/Prof Hongzhi Yin (ITEE)
Dr Ruifeng Yan (ITEE)
Dr Tong Chen (ITEE)

NOJA Power Switchgear


A pilot study of technical viability, criminal justice applications, and social implications of multilingual cross‐platform account linking

01/09/2021 - 31/08/2022

Dr Ash Rahimi (ITEE)
Dr Abigail Koay (ITEE)
Dr Jonah Rimer (SS)
Prof Adrian Cherney (SS)
Prof Ryan Ko (ITEE)



Privacy preserving federated deep learning for medical imaging

01/10/2021 - 30/09/2022

Dr Steffen Bollmann (ITEE)
Prof Peter Nestor (QBI)
Dr Yanjun Zhang (ITEE)
Prof Ryan Ko (ITEE)
Dr Jin Jin (UQ Advanced Imaging/Siemens)

Siemens Healthcare


Real-time Automatic Detection of Cyber-Attacks using Weakly Supervised Learning

01/09/2021 - 31/08/2022

Dr Abigail Koay (ITEE)
Prof Ryan Ko (ITEE)
Dr Miao Xu (ITEE)
Dr Nan Ye (SMP)



Round 3

A Framework to support organisational leaders in making more informed by cybersecurity decisions (submitted in round 2, revised based on cyber seed funding committee comments)

01/01/2022 - 31/12/2022

Dr Ivano Bongiovanni (UQB)

Dr Richard O’Quinn (UQB)

Prof Ryan Ko (ITEE)

Prof John Swinson (Law)



Automated Verification of Ethereum Smart-Contracts (AVESC)

11/01/2022 - 16/12/2022

A/Prof Mark Utting (ITEE)

Dr Naipeng Dong (ITEE)

Dr Marten Risius (UQB)

ConsenSys Software Inc


Formal Verification of Post-Quantum Cryptographic Primitives

01/12/2022 - 30/06/2023

Dr Naipeng Dong (ITEE)

Dr Veronika Kuchta (SMP)

Dr Guangdong Bai (ITEE)

CSIRO Data61

Dependable Intelligence


Collaborated Learning with medical data making high-stake decisions without information leakage


Dr Weitong Chen (ITEE)

Dr Miao Xu (ITEE)

A/Prof Guido Zuccon (ITEE)

Dr Guangdong Bai (ITEE)



A Resilient and Privacy-Preserving Platform for Automated Road Defect Detection and Asset Management


Dr Yadan Luo (ITEE)

Dr Jiwon Kim (Civil Engineering)

Prof Helen Huang (ITEE)

Dr Mahsa Baktashmotlagh (ITEE)

Logan City Council QLD


The Committee felt that these proposals either or all had:  

  • Clearly articulated the cyber security threats/issues;  
  • Had good industry partnerships that committed significant in-kind support and team access;  
  • Had great collaborations with other schools/faculties/institutes across UQ;
  • A good mix of researchers with relevant track record and skills
  • Written language used was clear and easy to read for non-technical committee members
  • Followed grant guidelines

For further information, please contact UQ Cyber via cyber@uq.edu.au